Journal: The Legend of Zelda

Video games have always had a huge impact on my life, and have inspired me in all of my work over the years. They help drive me to better my skills and work my imagination, as well as help me loosen up and relax when I feel stressed or overwhelmed. One series that I adore is The Legend of Zelda, a game series started back in 1986 and still going to this day. The series focuses on high fantasy adventure and puzzle solving, exploring dungeons and figuring out all it’s secrets to progress to the end and advance on your quest. Puzzle games are a great way to really get my mind working, so this series does wonders for helping me challenge myself to figure out whatever obstacle is present to me so I can learn more of the game’s story. Many other fans of the series produce animations based on the different games, such as these two animations. The first one was done in the style of Studio Ghibli, and absolutely took my breath away when I first saw it. The animator Matt Vince wonderfully translated the Zelda world into the Ghibli style, and at first many people thought this was done by Ghibli themselves. Paired with the calming music from the game it is representative of, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, the piece truly engaged me and I rematched it numerous times as I examined every small detail that I could.

The second animation was based on the sequel to Ocarina of Time, which is called Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask. The animation was done by a different creator, a youtube group called EmberLab, and features 3d animation instead of 2d. Upon my first viewing of it I was absolutely stunned by every little detail. From the lighting to the fluid motion in the figures, everything seemed to take my breath away. The models used in the animation are easy to identify as the characters from the game, and they fit into the style used for the animation wonderfully. Every little motion has the proper sound to go with it, and every small movement properly reflects on the environment.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

