Chair Still-life

My subject was a chair suspended into the air at an angle with a striped cloth thrown over it, and our goal was to translate the stripes, angles, and depths of the chairs onto our paper using charcoal. I ended up using charcoals on watercolor paper, however I feel as if I should have used a different paper to better work with my medium. The strongest part of my image is the left-hand side of the chair, as the stripes and folds in the paper have depth and a 3d feel to them and you get a sense of depth. As you move to the right-hand side of the image everything grows flat, and the image pulls forward. I will be going back over the image and attempting to slim down some of the stripes and fix the depth on the right side of the image, to help create 3d space similar to the other side.

chair-hell

This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

